quake-makaqu

Technical help for Dreamcast console, accessories and games only. Ask questions and find answers here. For Online help see the Online Forum

Moderator: pcwzrd13

ceriux
rebel

quake-makaqu

Post#1 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 1:16 am

hi all, i was curious if someone could help me figure this out. as stated in my introduction thread i'm a hobbyist quake modder and id like to make something new for the community to play or just add to their collections.

the quake engine iv chosen to use (at least for the moment) is makaqu 1.3.1 however it doesnt come in cdi format. i was curious if anyone here could point me in the right direction to convert the files needed here to the cdi format.

makaqu was built for the dreamcast as far as i know its the most advanced port of quake on the dreamcast.

https://code.google.com/p/makaqu/ -link for anyone wanting to check it out.

ceriux
rebel

Re: quake-makaqu

Post#2 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 1:47 pm

so to use the tools iv been seeing iv read that you have to download,install and make a VM because nothing past win XP is supported by the tools. is this true? or is there an up to date version of said tools i can use to make a bootable CDI?

ceriux
rebel

Post#3 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:36 pm

okay... so i installed the vm, got the tools to "work" and i keep getting this instead of the game loading up.. it just sits at this..

makaquprob.png

which on my actual dreamcast looks like crap and flickers (i'm assuming its because its trying to load it as a pal game)

the tools im talking about is called "fastboot" id really really appreciate some help with this. i'd also prefer if there was a way to get it to load as ntsc...

edit: iv also found a tool "bootdream" messing with that, no better results...

edit2: got it to load up quake finally! yet it crashes as soon as it loads..

edit3: Good news got it working. just have to figure out how to configure it properly. it only crashes on nulldc... works good on real dreamcast.

DR TEAMCAST
Uber