Page 6 of 9

Re: Any demand for modded Monaco RS2 Online?

Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 7:29 pm
by mistamontiel
Could the music system be looked @ ? I forget the other thread it was mentioned in

I heard the same , fucking , song , about 20 times . Off the GD

Re: Any demand for modded Monaco RS2 Online?

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:47 pm
by moi
Damn you Ubi Soft! It looked so promising:

Code: Select all

;(From romdisk.dat)

GLOBAL FUNCTION fnSetMaxOpponents ()
INT iMax
BEGIN
	IF(Project.eGameStyle==veRetro)
	BEGIN
		IF(Project.bMultiPlayer)
		BEGIN
			iMax=Project.iMaxMultiRetro-2
		END
		ELSE
		BEGIN
			iMax=Project.iMaxRetro-1
		END
		Project.iNbOpponent=iMax
	END
	ELSE
	BEGIN
		IF(Project.eGameMode==veTimeAttack)
		BEGIN
			Project.iNbOpponent=9			
		END
		ELSE
		BEGIN
			IF(Project.bMultiPlayer)
			BEGIN
				iMax=22                 
			END
			ELSE
			BEGIN
				iMax=Project.iMax-1
			END
			Project.iNbOpponent=iMax
		END
	END
	;CALL Project.fnCalcNbPilote()
	iMax=0
	Project.iGridPos[iMax]=1
	iMax=1
	Project.iGridPos[iMax]=2
END y;

Making me think that I could easily change the 6 player limit all for nothing!

Too bad it only sets the number of multiplayer AI opponents, seemingly when you are loading a save file...


@mista
I'm working with a non-CDDA GDI image that works with my setup in Demul and DreamShell. If you want to swap music tracks you probably should ask MrNeo for help :)
Meanwhile just turn it off in the options, your GD drive laser will surely thank you for that. :)

Re: Any demand for modded Monaco RS2 Online?

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:13 pm
by mistamontiel
Serious ? I thought it was jus the FMVs that wear and music tracks tickle o.0

I just noticed the sound options ! If I crank the music slider all the way down they won't play ? Rather than playing on mute

Re: Any demand for modded Monaco RS2 Online?

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 2:16 pm
by moi
mistamontiel wrote:Serious ? I thought it was jus the FMVs that wear and music tracks tickle o.0
For the laser it doesn't matter whether the GD motor is tickling or performing the DC typical "DJ scratches" it still has to send light up to the GD in order to read data and therefore wearing off.
I just noticed the sound options ! If I crank the music slider all the way down they won't play ? Rather than playing on mute
That of course depends on the programming and the libraries used by Ubi Soft.
If they were lazy they might have just muted the music instead of disabling it.
I doubt it however. The DC SDK most likely takes care of that by sending the laser in sleeping mode when no data is being read.

Btw. from my experience playing my Q3 non-CDDA image from SD card, muting the music gets rid of lots of in game slowdowns, even though it shouldn't matter since there are no CDDA tracks to read.


TLDR; As a rule of thumb if your game iso has no music tracks or you don't like the included one there is really no reason not to turn it off in the options.

Re: [WIP][release][pre-alpha]Modded Monaco RS2 Online Dreamshell Edition

Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:12 pm
by moi
Pre-alpha released:

http://www118.zippyshare.com/v/tct0TKr1/file.html

first post updated!

Re: [WIP][release][pre-alpha]Modded Monaco RS2 Online Dreamshell Edition

Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 12:40 am
by mrneo240
Credit: asasega

Racing Simulation 2 - Monaco Grand Prix On-Line T-45006D50V1.002

60fps
011969A8
0000E400

1165CA78 offset track21.bin

Re: [WIP][release][pre-alpha]Modded Monaco RS2 Online Dreamshell Edition

Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 8:05 am
by moi
mrneo240 wrote:Credit: asasega

Racing Simulation 2 - Monaco Grand Prix On-Line T-45006D50V1.002

60fps
011969A8
0000E400

1165CA78 offset track21.bin
Hey mrneo, thanks for posting.
Is there any gameshark/codbreaker code available? Dreamshell does support widescreen patches so it would be a matter of creating additional 60Fps shortcut for the released iso rather than having two separate images for 30 and 60 fps and therefore wasting hdd/sd space.

Re: [WIP][release][pre-alpha]Modded Monaco RS2 Online Dreamshell Edition

Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:17 pm
by mrneo240
the first 2 lines is a gameshark code.

second is if you were modifying an original dump.

Re: [WIP][release][pre-alpha]Modded Monaco RS2 Online Dreamshell Edition

Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:38 pm
by moi
mrneo240 wrote:the first 2 lines is a gameshark code.

second is if you were modifying an original dump.

DS only works with Codebreaker then. It didnt accept the one you posted, saying something about wrong number format. I did patch the 1stread.bin though. Haven't tested it long enough, but it it seems to make the car go crazy at spots, jumping around and some similarly random stuff. It did help to lessen the most grave slowdown in the Monaco track. The one at the downward curve before the tunnel.

Not sure how this could affect the online mode. It might be causing some issues in synchronization.

Re: [WIP][release][pre-alpha]Modded Monaco RS2 Online Dreamshell Edition

Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:56 pm
by mrneo240
im not familiar with how cheats work on the dreamcast or dreamshell. heres some info though if you find more info about how to create cheats

011969A8 0000E400

RAM Write
size: 16 Bit
address: 0xC1969A8
value: 0xE400

Constantly writes 0xE400 to 0xC1969A8.