Why should I go with the Dreamcast?

Discuss Dreamcast related events and other Dreamcast websites here.

Moderator: pcwzrd13

mudge365
noob

Why should I go with the Dreamcast?

Post#1 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 4:47 pm

I am new to this whole dreamcast thing and I have been getting into retro gaming lately. I don't own a dreamcast yet but I'm wondering why I should go with the dreamcast over the original Xbox which had TONS of games I loved like halo, kotor, and fable. It (the original Xbox) was also more powerful than the dreamcast. Not many of the games in the dreamcast library have really captured me, the only few I can think of is Skies of Arcadia and Shenmue. I would love some game recommendations and reasons why I should get this over the original Xbox. (I love RPGs like earthbound, final fantasy 6, suikoden, and xenogears. I also love the entire Halo series... Except for 5.)

Thank you for your help :)

Gary_b
Quantic Dream

Re: Why should I go with the Dreamcast?

Post#2 » Fri Aug 19, 2016 12:49 am

We should not convince you to get a Dreamcast. This decision should be made by you for your own reasons. I do not mind recommending some games for you though. I will say this, it sounds like you have already played the original XBOX. :twisted:

If you like RPG"s I would go with the already mentioned Sky's of Arcadia and Shenmue. Shenmue 2 was released for the XBOX in the united states. The Dreamcast did get Shenmue 2 in JPN and PAL though. Shenmue is more than an RPG. it has elements from just about every genre. From fighting, Racing, Adventure, Acton, Role Playing, Arcade and Simulation. For the arcade potion you can walk into a arcade in the game and play some classic SEGA games such as Hang On and Space Harrier. For the simulation aspect they make you get a job and you actually have to perform your work duties which consist of driving a fork truck moving creates from area to area.