configured PC-DC for VirtualBOX

Online games, how to get online, and anything involving Dreamcast online can be discussed here.
User avatar
brunovieira90
lithium
Posts: 47

Re: configured PC-DC for VirtualBOX

Post#71 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 12:03 am

Hello budy, how are you?
How you configured the virtual machine before starting it.
Have you allocated 512mb of ram?
Does your machine have this amount of free memory to allocate to the virtual machine without compromising the rest of the ram for system use? I could be completely wrong, but I think vtx is tied to memory allocation. Another detail, did you use the 32-bit ubuntu options when mounting the machine image and used the image for the correct vm? If you can, send screenshots of how you did the vm configuration for us to analyze. I'm not very knowledgeable, but we are always willing to collaborate with each other.

User avatar
brunovieira90
lithium
Posts: 47

Re: configured PC-DC for VirtualBOX

Post#72 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 12:06 am

maybe something in this article here can also help you, but not if that would really be the source of the problem.


https://qastack.com.br/programming/3330 ... vmx-disabl

User avatar
megavolt85
Developer
Posts: 1425

Re: configured PC-DC for VirtualBOX

Post#73 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 8:08 am

KmusDC wrote:Any idea what is going wrong?


your modem does not support the AT+VSM=1 command, which is used to emulate a dial tone

User avatar
Scrivani
JonatasScrivani
Posts: 471
Contact:

Re: configured PC-DC for VirtualBOX

Post#74 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 2:19 pm

"Blind dial : ON" may be a test for connecting under that restriction

Excepts for Quake3 and Planet Ring, whose dial tone is 100% mandatory

User avatar
KmusDC
minority
Posts: 66

Re: configured PC-DC for VirtualBOX

Post#75 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 6:00 pm

megavolt85 wrote:your modem does not support the AT+VSM=1 command, which is used to emulate a dial tone



Thanks for answering, could it have damaged the modem? Before I played all the titles with him without problems. This is the model I use.

Image

User avatar
KmusDC
minority
Posts: 66

Re: configured PC-DC for VirtualBOX

Post#76 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 6:03 pm

Scrivani wrote:"Blind dial : ON" may be a test for connecting under that restriction

Excepts for Quake3 and Planet Ring, whose dial tone is 100% mandatory


Exactly, Q3 does not even mark ... however Worms World Party works without DMZ creating a game myself.

User avatar
KmusDC
minority
Posts: 66

Re: configured PC-DC for VirtualBOX

Post#77 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 6:03 pm

brunovieira90 wrote:Hello budy, how are you?
How you configured the virtual machine before starting it.
Have you allocated 512mb of ram?
Does your machine have this amount of free memory to allocate to the virtual machine without compromising the rest of the ram for system use? I could be completely wrong, but I think vtx is tied to memory allocation. Another detail, did you use the 32-bit ubuntu options when mounting the machine image and used the image for the correct vm? If you can, send screenshots of how you did the vm configuration for us to analyze. I'm not very knowledgeable, but we are always willing to collaborate with each other.


Yes bro, it is configured with 512MB of ram memory and everything as shown in the tutorial photos. Apparently my problem is in the modem.

User avatar
brunovieira90
lithium
Posts: 47

Re: configured PC-DC for VirtualBOX

Post#78 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 8:02 pm

What a pity friend. I would like your solution to be a little simpler (and cheaper) than buying a new compatible modem.

Try something like testing the modem in the windows device manager and see if everything is ok with it.
Sometimes the seller was wrong in the description of the product offered for sale too.

If you are interested, dreamcastlive has kits and modems for sale (I have no relationship with this sale, I'm just indicating it as a frequent user here of the forum, and online gambling, with whom I had the pleasure of chatting and play a few times).

https://dreamcastlive.net/shop/

If you get any new positive results, please let us know here so we can help others who may experience the same problem.

User avatar
KmusDC
minority
Posts: 66

Re: configured PC-DC for VirtualBOX

Post#79 » Sat Jul 10, 2021 8:00 pm

My problem was another, the games connect correctly even with that error, apparently it is not relevant. Thanks to those who responded.

mickschen
lithium
Posts: 43

Re: configured PC-DC for VirtualBOX

Post#80 » Sat Jan 22, 2022 10:06 am

Hey guys, i saw there was an update for the image for the raspberry...

exist an update for the VM too?

Return to “Online”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users