Page 1 of 1

Do dial up works still ??

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 2:54 pm
by Chance_4x
2 years ago I was playing quake 3 online through the modem now I come back and everybody using something called “DreamPi” and BBA I don’t have all that and I don’t know how to use em lol I’m lost tbh but is there still a way to play through just the dial up modem?????

Re: Do dial up works still ??

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 3:35 pm
by HuntrRose
q3a should work on dialup no problem.. if you can find an isp...

probably need a dreampi for most of the other stuff...

Re: Do dial up works still ??

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:47 pm
by Chance_4x
How can I find a isp doee??

Re: Do dial up works still ??

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 7:16 pm
by ReaderRagfish
It'd likely be cheaper, easier, and faster to just buy a Dreampi kit than to get actual dial up set up in your home and pay the monthly fee that comes with it, but if you really must use dial up then take a look at companies like AOL and Netzero. They still offer dial up services.

So far, the only game that won't work with dial up is Alien Front Online.

Re: Do dial up works still ??

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 7:23 pm
by Shuouma
And the 2k series and hopefully you will get the DNS to work, usually it is overrided. But yeah just fix a Dreampi.

Re: Do dial up works still ??

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:29 pm
by Chance_4x
Thankz guyz I appreciate it :mrgreen:

Re: Do dial up works still ??

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 1:54 pm
by MrSmith4447
I use Xfinity cable internet which comes with an active phone line through the cable modem. I was curious last month and decided purchase a dial up account from a company at https://www.localnet.com. it's maybe 9.99 per month. So far I've been unable to find anyone online for Q3A. I may have to adjust my settings. You can check the website for dial up access numbers in your area to see if they cover dial-up where you are. I would buy the Pi kit I've been reading about but I figured all ever known was dial up connection so why not. When is the next Quake gathering. I need to get back refreshed. It's only been hmmm maybe 16 years since my last session. Lol

Re: Do dial up works still ??

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 3:50 pm
by ReaderRagfish
Quake is every Friday night. If you want to play at a different time, your best bet is to ask in the chat here if anyone is up for a game.

While there aren't always humans online, there should be a few servers with bots playing all the time, did you at least see those?

Re: Do dial up works still ??

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:26 pm
by mistamontiel
https://www.dreamcastlive.net/faq @ MrSmith

Screw the real thing when DreamPi tis limitless 0.o