my dc is resetting

Technical help for Dreamcast console, accessories and games only. Ask questions and find answers here. For Online help see the Online Forum
247
Roadster
Posts: 367

my dc is resetting

Post#1 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 8:08 am

so, last week i had a reset, and yesterday i had a reset too and i was wondering if there's a solution to that

i had my dc to reset long time ago but well cleaned the "pettine" (in english is translated as comb, don't know the name of this component but in italy we call it the pettine, maybe the pins?) and this has worked till last week. Now i am cleaning it again but does anyone have a more permanent solution?maybe @no1dopechampion ?

i'll attach a photo ayway of the comb to better explain people what i am talking about...
Attachments
DSC_0179.JPG

User avatar
poopidoop
letterbomb
Posts: 147

Re: my dc is resetting

Post#2 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:07 am

yes there is, this link is to pcwzrd's fix video :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wN6ZQFg89BA

247
Roadster
Posts: 367

Re: my dc is resetting

Post#3 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:31 pm

Oh, i need to find the equipment to solder then

But the question is : the problem are the pins?or the laser is wearing out?

User avatar
pcwzrd13
Seen Any Sailors?
Posts: 5726
Contact:

Re: my dc is resetting

Post#4 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 1:42 pm

247 wrote:But the question is : the problem are the pins?or the laser is wearing out?


What exactly is the Dreamcast doing? "Resetting" can mean a number of things. Does it just go back to the main menu or does it play the boot up animation? Also, does it reboot immediately or do you see a back screen first? I had a Dreamcast that would randomly go to a black screen and then completely reboot after a few seconds. Turned out the fan connector was loose. If the fan turned off, the Dreamcast would reset.

To summarize the symptoms and causes:

Immediate reboot to boot animation: Power supply
Black screen / no signal and then boot animation: Fan
Reset to main menu with no boot animation: GD-ROM drive
PSO Characters:
Teal'c - lvl 119 HUcast - GC# 11666
Alto - lvl 39 FOnewm - GC# 12964

YouTube Channel : Dreamcast Live

247
Roadster
Posts: 367

Re: my dc is resetting

Post#5 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 4:59 pm

Exactly, my dc is rebooting to the dc logo, without a black screen, just rebooting and waiting for my tv to get the signal again

Krootox1986
lithium
Posts: 41

Re: my dc is resetting

Post#6 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:21 am

This thread is a curse! I read it and it happened to mine. I cleaned the pins for the moment and that seems to have worked so fingers crossed it's just a bit dirty

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

247
Roadster
Posts: 367

Re: my dc is resetting

Post#7 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:26 am

done the same too, but at the time of writing my vga box died and can't find my scart cable nowhere, i fear i really have to use that damn (still sealed) rf cable...

cargo
noob
Posts: 2

Re: my dc is resetting

Post#8 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:03 pm

I recommend searching Ebay or AliExpress for a "PicoDreamcast PSU". It might solve your power supply issues. Another possibility may be bad or leaked capacitors. This cause is hard to tell because the kind of caps the Dreamcast uses (surface mount) tend to leak from underneath. Since they look fine upon visual inspection you can't tell if it has gone bad until you desolder them. Would recommend doing this as a last resort before declaring your Dreamcast (or any console for that matter) as completely dead.

User avatar
Rolly
rebel
Posts: 23
Contact:

Re: my dc is resetting

Post#9 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:06 pm

Cleaning pins and thermopads helped me only for a while :(
The problem of restarts was solved by the Chinese replacement for the power supply.
Works with all consoles (JAP/US/EU).
It has been working on my PAL Dreamast for about 5 months. The console does not reset.

https://aliexpress.com/item/33050960288 ... 1d030889cd
Image Image Image Image Image

Dreamcast hacks & translations project on:
https://segasky.itch.io/

User avatar
Wrath of Khan
Toy Commander
Posts: 550

Re: my dc is resetting

Post#10 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:24 pm

Jeez. My dc only reads some cdrs but not others. It plays gdroms though. I had someone fix it with a pico psu but the same issue persists. Damn annoying. I have a few dc games I want to play and new ones I want to buy. I am thinking of sending my dc to someone for repairs. I know its cheaper to just buy a new dc but I cannot leave this one die. Lol. What's a good place to send it for repairs? Who is skilled at this sort of thing?

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron