GDEmu disc swap process question

Technical help for Dreamcast console, accessories and games only. Ask questions and find answers here. For Online help see the Online Forum
User avatar
Xiden
Leonard Nimoy
Posts: 1858

Re: GDEmu disc swap process question

Post#11 » Mon Jan 11, 2021 8:13 pm

19SULLY67 wrote:Hey folks!!! I tried this SD card swap thing, didn't work. I'm playing Alone In The Dark-The New Nightmare. Here's what I did: I reformatted a 32gb card I have ( correct format, Fat 32 and is SDHC 10 which is supported ) I used SD Card Maker and put the CDI for disc 2 on it, but Card Maker kept adding the GDEMU folder 1 and the ini for GDEMU, didn't work, so I put back in my computer and took GDEMU folder and GDEMU Ini both off the card and renamed the game disc 2 folder, to folder 01 and I did exactly what you said, I got to the part where it says open the lid and put in disc 2, I opened, took out my 64gb card with all my games on it, waited like 10 seconds, put the 32gb disc with ONLY folder 01 containing disc 2 of Alone In The Dark The New Nightmare and once it was in closed the lid and waited and waited and waited for like 5 minutes, tried a few times, nothing. I am a computer tech, nit coder or anything else like that, unless you count DOS and .bat files!! So, I do not have any idea how to change the Ini file for the game????? Am I missing something? Should I not use SD card Maker and just copy the disc 2 CDI for the game directly to the SD card with Windows? Please help!!
Any help would be great!!!!
19sully67@gmail.com
Thank You!!!
PS: I have a GDEMU Clone v. 5.15b, I did my homework before purchasing and 5.15b us way better than 5.15, it has same chipset as original, is updatable and had a way better SD slot on the GDEMU, I use a top piece 3d printed tay, so no need to reach for the swap button, it's right there on the top when I open the lid. Oh yea, I tried the swap button too, no luck.


Sent you a PM with some suggestions. When you used button on gdemu did u put disc 2 on same card?

retro
rebel
Posts: 15

Re: GDEmu disc swap process question

Post#12 » Wed Mar 24, 2021 10:38 pm

19SULLY67 wrote:I have a GDEMU Clone v. 5.15b, I did my homework before purchasing and 5.15b us way better than 5.15, it has same chipset as original, is updatable and had a way better SD slot on the GDEMU, I use a top piece 3d printed tay, so no need to reach for the swap button, it's right there on the top when I open the lid. Oh yea, I tried the swap button too, no luck.


Whoa! :shock:

You're absolutely certain the 5.15b clone is updatable? Is it using the Atmel ATSAM3U2E chip as the original?

viper3344
undertow
Posts: 28

Re: GDEmu disc swap process question

Post#13 » Sun Apr 04, 2021 9:54 pm

19SULLY67 wrote:Hey folks!!! I tried this SD card swap thing, didn't work. I'm playing Alone In The Dark-The New Nightmare. Here's what I did: I reformatted a 32gb card I have ( correct format, Fat 32 and is SDHC 10 which is supported ) I used SD Card Maker and put the CDI for disc 2 on it, but Card Maker kept adding the GDEMU folder 1 and the ini for GDEMU, didn't work, so I put back in my computer and took GDEMU folder and GDEMU Ini both off the card and renamed the game disc 2 folder, to folder 01 and I did exactly what you said, I got to the part where it says open the lid and put in disc 2, I opened, took out my 64gb card with all my games on it, waited like 10 seconds, put the 32gb disc with ONLY folder 01 containing disc 2 of Alone In The Dark The New Nightmare and once it was in closed the lid and waited and waited and waited for like 5 minutes, tried a few times, nothing. I am a computer tech, nit coder or anything else like that, unless you count DOS and .bat files!! So, I do not have any idea how to change the Ini file for the game????? Am I missing something? Should I not use SD card Maker and just copy the disc 2 CDI for the game directly to the SD card with Windows? Please help!!
Any help would be great!!!!
19sully67@gmail.com
Thank You!!!
PS: I have a GDEMU Clone v. 5.15b, I did my homework before purchasing and 5.15b us way better than 5.15, it has same chipset as original, is updatable and had a way better SD slot on the GDEMU, I use a top piece 3d printed tay, so no need to reach for the swap button, it's right there on the top when I open the lid. Oh yea, I tried the swap button too, no luck.



Wait hol up.. did you ACTUALLY update your clone to the latest version?

Naster
shadow
Posts: 6

Re: GDEmu disc swap process question

Post#14 » Tue Apr 13, 2021 3:17 pm

Xiden wrote:I found what seems to be a 100% reliable way to disc swap on D2 with a clone GDEMU.

You will need 4 sd-cards (find some cheap ones) one for each disc. Or just put disc 1 on your main SD card with games, however you wish to do it :)

Disc 2 - 4 need to be on individual SD cards in the 01 folder.
When it asks you to swap, take out the SD-Card, wait about 10 seconds then insert SD-Card with Disc 2 and it should boot into without any issues :)

I've tested it 10 times in a row without issues!

Also I'm sure as Ian said you could just mod the ini file to have longer opening and detect times to fix it as well but I haven't tested that.


I did exactly this and it doesn't work. I've tested it on the opening option on the disc 1. Screen "Please insert disc 4" appear, I swap the card #1 with the card #4 with 10 seconds delay after removing the first one and nothing happens -- screen is the same. I've also changed the parameters on GD.ini to 2000.

User avatar
Xiden
Leonard Nimoy
Posts: 1858

Re: GDEmu disc swap process question

Post#15 » Tue Apr 13, 2021 5:35 pm

Naster wrote:
Xiden wrote:I found what seems to be a 100% reliable way to disc swap on D2 with a clone GDEMU.

You will need 4 sd-cards (find some cheap ones) one for each disc. Or just put disc 1 on your main SD card with games, however you wish to do it :)

Disc 2 - 4 need to be on individual SD cards in the 01 folder.
When it asks you to swap, take out the SD-Card, wait about 10 seconds then insert SD-Card with Disc 2 and it should boot into without any issues :)

I've tested it 10 times in a row without issues!

Also I'm sure as Ian said you could just mod the ini file to have longer opening and detect times to fix it as well but I haven't tested that.


I did exactly this and it doesn't work. I've tested it on the opening option on the disc 1. Screen "Please insert disc 4" appear, I swap the card #1 with the card #4 with 10 seconds delay after removing the first one and nothing happens -- screen is the same. I've also changed the parameters on GD.ini to 2000.


Are the SDCards the the same brand? Not sure if that matters or not, also are you using a clone? There are so many clones makers now that could be an issue :(. You may try upping the time higher to see if that works.

User avatar
megavolt85
Developer
Posts: 1061

Re: GDEmu disc swap process question

Post#16 » Tue Apr 13, 2021 7:32 pm

open_time = 1000
detect_time = 1000
this is sufficient for most GDEMUs, except for the earliest clones that do not read GDEMU.ini

put disc 1 to folder xx, disc 2 to folder xx+1, etc...
xx is two digit
start disc 1, when need chage disc press once button on GDEMU and wait

Naster
shadow
Posts: 6

Re: GDEmu disc swap process question

Post#17 » Wed Apr 14, 2021 1:40 am

megavolt85 wrote:open_time = 1000
detect_time = 1000
this is sufficient for most GDEMUs, except for the earliest clones that do not read GDEMU.ini

put disc 1 to folder xx, disc 2 to folder xx+1, etc...
xx is two digit
start disc 1, when need chage disc press once button on GDEMU and wait


Button press on GDEmu does nothing but freezees the game when I push B to get back to menu.

Naster
shadow
Posts: 6

Re: GDEmu disc swap process question

Post#18 » Wed Apr 14, 2021 1:45 am

Xiden wrote:
Naster wrote:
Xiden wrote:I found what seems to be a 100% reliable way to disc swap on D2 with a clone GDEMU.

You will need 4 sd-cards (find some cheap ones) one for each disc. Or just put disc 1 on your main SD card with games, however you wish to do it :)

Disc 2 - 4 need to be on individual SD cards in the 01 folder.
When it asks you to swap, take out the SD-Card, wait about 10 seconds then insert SD-Card with Disc 2 and it should boot into without any issues :)

I've tested it 10 times in a row without issues!

Also I'm sure as Ian said you could just mod the ini file to have longer opening and detect times to fix it as well but I haven't tested that.


I did exactly this and it doesn't work. I've tested it on the opening option on the disc 1. Screen "Please insert disc 4" appear, I swap the card #1 with the card #4 with 10 seconds delay after removing the first one and nothing happens -- screen is the same. I've also changed the parameters on GD.ini to 2000.


Are the SDCards the the same brand? Not sure if that matters or not, also are you using a clone? There are so many clones makers now that could be an issue :(. You may try upping the time higher to see if that works.


My SD cards are different brands. Pretty sure that it's a clone, I get it on the Aliexpress for $40. upd.: it's a clone, the chip says ATSAM3U4E.
Attachments
Screenshot_2021-04-14 2909 73руб 30% СКИДКА Оптический привод доска для моделирования GDEMU сменный модуль быстрая игра для[...].png

Naster
shadow
Posts: 6

Re: GDEmu disc swap process question

Post#19 » Wed Apr 14, 2021 4:10 am

Guess I resolved the problem. I started to look into hardware, removed the plastic thing that fits into the Dreamcast's plastic. Switched the card directly. And it worked just as the instruction says.
Attachments
Screenshot_2021-04-14 1003 9руб 36% СКИДКА Комплект для установки SD карты на дистанционном управлении Bitfunx GDEMU, удлин[...].png

User avatar
Xiden
Leonard Nimoy
Posts: 1858

Re: GDEmu disc swap process question

Post#20 » Wed Apr 14, 2021 11:35 am

Naster wrote:Guess I resolved the problem. I started to look into hardware, removed the plastic thing that fits into the Dreamcast's plastic. Switched the card directly. And it worked just as the instruction says.


Good Deal! Are you referring to the SD Card Extender?

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users