Dreamcast v2 GD ROM replacement possible ?

Technical help for Dreamcast console, accessories and games only. Ask questions and find answers here. For Online help see the Online Forum

Moderator: pcwzrd13

mscotz
noob

Dreamcast v2 GD ROM replacement possible ?

Post#1 » Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:18 am

Hello a novice here, of the three versions of DC I seem to have the version 2, where the gd rom is all plastic. My DC wont spin discs any more and the screw turn technique worked for a little bit but not anymore. On ebay the replacement gd rom seem like all the ones that just snap into the slot, but version 2 does not seem would work. Also GDEMU seems a non option.

So for version 2 Dreamcast what are options to fix the gd rom ? Thanks.

Dreamcast HKT-3020
Manufactured October 2000
Version 2 NTSC

Xiden
Developer

Re: Dreamcast v2 GD ROM replacement possible ?

Post#2 » Wed Jul 15, 2020 8:30 am

mscotz wrote:Hello a novice here, of the three versions of DC I seem to have the version 2, where the gd rom is all plastic. My DC wont spin discs any more and the screw turn technique worked for a little bit but not anymore. On ebay the replacement gd rom seem like all the ones that just snap into the slot, but version 2 does not seem would work. Also GDEMU seems a non option.

Dreamcast HKT-3020
Version 2 NTSC

Edit deleted
Last edited by Xiden on Wed Jul 15, 2020 2:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

|darc|
lithium

Post#3 » Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:47 pm

Xiden wrote:
mscotz wrote:Hello a novice here, of the three versions of DC I seem to have the version 2, where the gd rom is all plastic. My DC wont spin discs any more and the screw turn technique worked for a little bit but not anymore. On ebay the replacement gd rom seem like all the ones that just snap into the slot, but version 2 does not seem would work. Also GDEMU seems a non option.

Dreamcast HKT-3020
Version 2 NTSC

Get a MODE from TerraOnion, its the only replacement device that will work on a v2