Dreampi no dial tone.

Technical help for Dreamcast console, accessories and games only. Ask questions and find answers here. For Online help see the Online Forum
User avatar
VKNIGHT20
rebel
Posts: 24

Dreampi no dial tone.

Post#1 » Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:55 pm

So my Dreampi 3 kit just arrived today and it's been a tricky bugger to set up. I thought that I should share all of my steps so that you can tell what I did wrong.
1. Plug the usb modem into dreampi
2. Plug line voltage inducer from dreampi modem into Dreamcast modem
3. plug in hdmi cable from Dreampi to tv
4. Plug in usb keyboard
5. plug in power supply
6. Turn on tv and switch to hdmi 3 (or whatever port I plug the cord into)
7. For 'login' type in 'pi'
8. for password type in 'raspberry'
9. type sudo wificonfig
10. Type 3 (Add network)
11. Select 'secured'
12. Type in wifi network name
12. type in wifi network password
13. Type y
14. Type 'sudo reboot'
15. Switch over to the dreamcast with my copy of web browser 2.0 inserted (Due note that my modem only has one LED lit up)
16. Select internet settings (Or something close to that. It's the symbol in the top left of options)
17. Select Real Name and type my real name
18. Select login id and type in Dream
19. Select Login Password and type Dreamcast
20. Select Phone Number and type 111-1111
21. Set primary and secondary DNS to 0's
22. Select 'Save'
23. Select 'Connect'
24. Receive the error saying that there is no dial tone. Also my modem only has one led lit up.

Any help would be appreciated.
"Do you think God stays in heaven because he, too, lives in fear of what he's created here on earth?" - Robert Rodriguez, writer of Spy Kids 2

User avatar
killer-elite
rebel
Posts: 15

Re: Dreampi no dial tone.

Post#2 » Thu Oct 29, 2020 10:44 pm


User avatar
VKNIGHT20
rebel
Posts: 24

Re: Dreampi no dial tone.

Post#3 » Thu Oct 29, 2020 11:10 pm

I followed those tutorials, however my dreamcast still will not connect. I have all of the correct information entered, however my modem still shows only 1 led light instead of two.
"Do you think God stays in heaven because he, too, lives in fear of what he's created here on earth?" - Robert Rodriguez, writer of Spy Kids 2

User avatar
pcwzrd13
Seen Any Sailors?
Posts: 6222
Contact:

Re: Dreampi no dial tone.

Post#4 » Fri Oct 30, 2020 9:00 am

Only one light on the modem means the Pi isn't ready to accept a connection from the Dreamcast. 99% of the time it's because the Pi isn't detecting an internet connection. I would use the option in wificonfig to delete the existing networks and try adding it again. Also make sure the network you're adding is 2.4GHz and not 5GHz. 5GHz networks aren't supported by the Pi 3.
PSO Characters:
Teal'c - lvl 119 HUcast - GC# 11666
Alto - lvl 39 FOnewm - GC# 12964

YouTube Channel : Dreamcast Live

User avatar
VKNIGHT20
rebel
Posts: 24

Re: Dreampi no dial tone.

Post#5 » Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:37 am

Turns out that you were right. I had messed up when entering in my wifi password. Thank you for the help.
"Do you think God stays in heaven because he, too, lives in fear of what he's created here on earth?" - Robert Rodriguez, writer of Spy Kids 2

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users