DreamShell Won't Boot Past the DreamShell Splash Screen

Technical help for Dreamcast console, accessories and games only. Ask questions and find answers here. For Online help see the Online Forum

Moderator: pcwzrd13

sonicsam41
shadow

DreamShell Won't Boot Past the DreamShell Splash Screen

Post by sonicsam41 »

Hello! I'm new to the Dreamcast, having picked up an early model on eBay (US Dreamcast with 0 on the bottom). I recently came across this guide for backing up my Dreamcast's BIOS and games, but I'm running into issues when it comes to DreamShell. I picked up a Serial to SD adapter and followed the steps in the guide (getting the files from the DreamShell website, formatting my 32 GB microSD card to FAT32 and placing the contents of the DS folder onto it). I started by using DCSDRip to get the BIOS files onto the card (which worked no problem, so the SD card is detected by the system), and then I turned off the system and switched to the DreamShell bootloader disc that I burned following the video. I was greeted by the DreamShell splash screen (the black background with the red streaks), but it just hung there. I tried pressing buttons on the controller and waiting a while, but never seemed to get past that step. Am I doing something wrong? Any help is appreciated, troubleshooting for DreamShell seems rather sparse and spread throughout different websites.
fafadou
Gold Lion

Re: DreamShell Won't Boot Past the DreamShell Splash Screen

Post by fafadou »

You have to format your sd card in fat32 format

- copy the DS folder from here https://github.com/DC-SWAT/DreamShell/releases
on your SD card
- create a new directory called games for example and put your isos inside (you can create some under directories if you have many games)

You can also join us here :
http://www.dc-swat.ru/forum/thread-3986.html

In dc swat forum, in order to have the last updates.
sonicsam41
shadow

Post by sonicsam41 »